Friday, April 27, 2018

Be Careful What You Joust For new serial fantasy

Be Careful What You Joust For
Pentavia Book 1
Ryan Hauge and Ivy Smoak
March 2018

Fantasy serial
ISBN  978-1985876057
450 pp
ebook $.99
print: $15.99

About the Book
The fiercest knights in the realm are coming together to compete in the Joust for Arwin's Lance, a tournament that will divide even the closest alliances. The winner alone will have the power to start or prevent a war from unfolding across the peaceful lands of Pentavia.

House Hornbolt, a prominent family that desires peace above all else, is hosting the tournament. The Hornbolt's have always been strict followers of tradition. The first born son wears the armor of a knight. The second takes the priestly Oath of Arwin. And the daughters get married off to the most eligible suitors.

The eldest son is the favorite to win the tournament. But the rest of the Hornbolts aren't as eager to follow the paths laid out for them. What if the second born wants to be a knight too? And what if the eldest daughter just gave her heart to a common thief?

Customs are meant to be broken. But that's not all that threatens to shatter House Hornbolt, not when a secret deeper than the late king's grave is unearthed right before the joust.

The fate of Pentavia hangs in the balance as war becomes imminent. And the scales are about to tip.

One wrong move and everything could fall to pieces.

My Review
Revenge, magic, secret lives and lies combine in an adventurous romp that continues in the next book.

Hauge tries his hand at epic fantasy, influenced by the major players. The kingdom’s several factions ally, fight, commit acts of treason and murder, and intermarry while life goes on for their subjects who serve and provide for them, all in an attempt to be the only one. Of the four main faction, two are pretty much out of the picture. The story opens with a not quite sympathetic character, the Lady Isolda, whose secret life is about to get interesting.

Be Careful… is a lengthy first part of an adventure as Isolda tries to unravel the long-past murder of her father, King Bogdin of the House Talenov, and avenge his name. Her grown and growing children, her husband Garrion of the House Hornbolt, and several players all have speaking voices, so that Be Careful… is really more a series of stories that intertwine.

The book is full of good and complex character portrayals, magic and magical armor, hidden identities—all the fun setting details which bring story to life. Many little subplots raise the stakes to create an intriguing tale for hardcore fantasy readers.

Warning—this is a series in which some principal players bite the dust while others carry on in the next book, in progress, according to the author.

About the Author
Ryan HaugeRyan Hauge is the author of the highly anticipated Pentavia fantasy series. Drawing inspiration from his toy business and the countless computer games he grew up playing, he weaves tales of mystery and intrigue.

When he's not writing, you can bet that he's distracting his wife from her work, handling a toy emergency, or whipping up something delicious in the kitchen.

He lives in Wilmington, Delaware with his wife, Ivy Smoak. They do everything together, including writing the Pentavia Series.

No comments:

Post a Comment