Friday, November 21, 2014

Book Review: Laura J Davis and He Who Has an Ear

Laura J Davis

January 2014
ISBN: 9781492125051
Print $8.99, E-book $2.99
Biblical Exposition

More than two thousand years ago the Apostle John had a vision he received from the Lord. He was told to write seven letters to the churches of Asia Minor. Out of the seven churches only two received commendation from the Lord. The rest were letters of warning. Compromise and disobedience, combined with a lack of knowledge of the Word of God, has placed the 21st century church in a precarious situation. These letters to the seven churches are a message for this generation during these last days. He who has an ear will know what to do and act accordingly.

My Review: Insightful and well documented and researched book dissecting the Revelation of the Seven Churches for today’s meanings. Having just been in Ephesus, I appreciated the effort Davis went to make these places come alive for contemporary readers. It’s always tricky to make connections between popular current movements, people, and trends to Biblical prophecy. That very issue of expectation and assumption has been going on since the first Promise, however. Davis points out historical theories and why people thought/think what they do about the Christian faith and how to practice it.

Included in each chapter are check lists about the characteristics of the churches, calls to action and contemplation, questions and dialog interspersed with segments of the Scripture. My Kindle copy has a little formatting trouble with spacing between sentences, but it was not terribly difficult to read.

For those interested in eschatology, Davis’s honed reasoning about the symbolism of the seven churches mentioned by John in the Revelation of Christ will provide much to ponder, chew over and discuss. The author includes a lengthy resource and bibliography that is also helpful to those who would like the study deeper.

No comments:

Post a Comment